2017 Oka' Institute Sustainability Conference Registration is now Open! -- Click to Read More

2017 Sustainability Conference

The 2017 Oka' Institute Sustainability Conference, October 10-11, 2017

 Quality Water, Now, and in the Future!

The second annual Oka' Institute Sustainability Conference will take place on October 10-11, 2017 on East Central University's Ada campus, in the Chickasaw Business and Conference Center.

Our keynote speakers include:

  • Governor Bill Anoatubby, Chickasaw Nation
  • Dr. David Zoldoske, Executive Director of Water Initiatives, California State University, Fresno
  • Stephen Greetham, Executive Officer, General Counsel, Chickasaw Nation Division of Commerce


Topics to be discussed include drought contingency, trends and major issues in water law and policy, water cluster development and two separate panel discussions; policy/projects that move Oklahoma forward and data/research that moves Oklahoma forward.

This year we are excited to offer two optional tours to be given during the day on Tuesday, October 10 starting at 1p.m. Participants will choose between touring the Robert S. Kerr Environmental Research Center or Byrds Mill Spring, both located in Ada, Oklahoma. Also this year, we will be adding a student poster competition for students from all Regional Universities in the state of Oklahoma. View the poster flyer

7 CLE Credits will be offered for the Oklahoma Bar Association and Professional Engineer continuing education credits will be offered.

Hotel reservations can be made at Holiday Inn Express and Suites for a group rate of $91/night. Reserve a room

Register Now for The 2017 Oka' Institute Sustainability Conference, October 10-11, 2017

Governor Bill Anoatubby, Chickasaw Nation

Bill Anoatubby, an ECU alumnus, has served as governor of the Chickasaw Nation since 1987 after consistently being re-elected to that position. In 1979, he was elected the first lieutenant governor of the Chickasaw Nation. In his first term, Anoatubby established goals of economic development and self-sufficiency for the Chickasaw Nation and its people. Today, the Chickasaw Nation is well on the way to achieving those goals. In 1987, the tribe had about 250 employees and today, the Chickasaw Nation employs nearly 14,000 people.

Dr. David Zoldoske, California State University, Fresno

Dr. David Zoldoske serves as the Executive Director of Water Initiatives at California State University, Fresno, where he has been actively working on “water use efficiency” issues for over 35 years. He is the co-founder of the BlueTechValley (BTV) Water Cluster, which was established in 2001, and is recognized by the Environmental Technology Innovation Cluster Development and Support Program, EPA Office of Research and Development as the first active water cluster in the US.

He established the Valley Ventures Accelerator at Fresno State, the Central Valley Innovation Cluster and the Water/Energy Technology (WET) Incubator. He also serves as the co-chair of the California Department of Water Resources strategic planning caucus for New Water Technology, the vice-chair of the AB2717 State Task Force on Landscape Irrigation and the past president of the Irrigation Association. Zoldoske was awarded “person of the year” by both the California Irrigation Institute (2015) and the Irrigation Association (2013).  

Stephen Greetham, Chickasaw Nation

Stephen H. Greetham presently serves as Executive Officer, General Counsel to the Chickasaw Nation Division of Commerce, in which capacity he manages complex litigation on the Nation’s behalf and works closely with tribal leadership on matters of economic development, resource management and protection, and intergovernmental affairs.  He also is an Adjunct Professor of Law at the University of Oklahoma College of Law, where he regularly teaches federal Indian Water Law. Greetham was formerly a partner in the Nordhaus Law Firm (Albuquerque, NM), where he served as counsel to several American Indian tribes; he also previously taught federal Indian tax, and Indian gaming law at the University of New Mexico Law School.